I Was A Wrestler

Well, quit the team today. I fucking quit the team today. I had to, after talking with people who’d had herpes and with experts and getting an in-depth risk talk, I couldn’t take the chance. The fact that there’s a confirmed case of herpes in the league means that my chances of getting it would be 1 in10 per every match I wrestle, and…I just can’t take that chance.

Skin problems are a huge issue with wrestlers. Every season SOMEONE gets ringworm on EVERY team, its just a given. Impetaigo and eczema are common although I’ve never had them. They spread like wildfire in a room where you’re constantly rubbing up against other people’s sweat, and the fact that you can get skin Herpes (not the STD kind) from just touching someone who has it is enough motivation for me to get my priorities in order. I finally got rid of the ringworm I had on my left forarm. After two weeks of bleach and a hairdryer, I’m thinking I should have just used the Lamisil.

I talked to coach, he smiled when he saw me and we talked about it. It’s a disqualifying condition for the military, at least type 2 is. Type 1 i’m not sure about, but I still don’t want to have it regardless. Painful outbreaks with fever every month for the rest of my life and for everyone else I touch is not something I’m willing to put my family, my friends, or myself through. And besides, Brandon is still on the team, conditioning with us, and touching the mat with us.

I told him thank you for everything and for giving me the opportunity to be on the team and to wrestle, that it was a lot more than anyone has ever done for me. I said this team was the best group of guys I’ve been around and the best coaching staff I’ve ever come in contact with. Coach shook my hand and said that it sucks because I looked like I was having fun, and that he doesn’t care man, woman or child, as long as I was in there every day working hard…I was a wrestler in his book.
I was a Wrestler.

I’m still a wrestler I guess, sorta, I mean it’s not like I’m going to quit wrestling, just with that team in this league. Hopefully someday I’ll get to wrestle again, hopefully the next team I’m on will be as great of a team as this team was with people like Sean and Jareth and Bryan who are going to push me and pat me on the back when I’m working hard and tell me not to shoot for their right leg and then shoot for mine. Hopefully the next coach I have will be as great as Coach Garriot was and think that as long as I’m there doing the work I’m a wrestler. Maybe I can wrestle for the Army, or at the next college I’m at, assuming something like this doesn’t happen again. I’m still going to go help out at tournaments sometimes, I’m still working the Halloween Open with the rest of the unhired help.

Well heck this sucks. Don’t know what I’m going to do with this blog now. It was supposed to be one of those things that follows someone through their ups and downs and watches them finally suceed in the end or grow stronger or something dumb like that. I guess I was trying to send a message with my story or maybe inspire someone else or I dunno. Guess I was trying to make a point.

Aw screw it. Follow your dreams, they take you places. I think.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “I Was A Wrestler”

  1. zaphodfreek Says:

    Harsh.
    There’s a message in there somewheres.


Leave a Reply

